Resilience

Lately, I’ve been tested. You know those points in your being life throws you this tests. As if to see if u’ll cave in to the pressure.
It gets me thinking of the tensile tests done on steel. Before use steel has to be tested for its quality and strength. Simply put you take a sample of the steel and continuously apply a load to it, up to its breaking point just to see whether it can withstand the pressure. Then and only then, if the results are as expected the steel is put to use. If not the steel is discarded and another sample has to be obtained.
I personally think this is what life is doing when it throws challenges our way. They are meant to test your faith. As if to find out who is worthy to keep on living.
As I was on the verge of collapse, you know that point when you are on a ledge dangling off just about to stumble to your death. Something came to me (I will not call it a vision so that you don’t get it twisted. I am not here on any divine mission). It got me thinking of athletes. Why athletes? (I know someone may be wondering). When an athlete is at the starting line, they are excited the thought of what awaits them at the finish line must make their bloods boil. The allure of crossing the finish line first and clinching the gold medal and that is besides the glory that comes with winning. Then the race starts. And suddenly, it’s literally all about blood, sweat and tears. They give it their all, at that point giving up is not an option not considering what lies at the other end. What do they do? They give it their all, even if it means pushing beyond their limits.
That there is what I term as resilience, being able to keep going even if it may seem that all is lost. In life such moments are numerous when you completely hit the bottom, then think of the athlete who keeps on going. Despite the hurdles that life throws at you, hope you don’t give in to the pressure then you may no longer be considered worthy to keep on living. I’ll finish off with these words that even I when I heard them boosted my morale, someone said, ‘The road of life is hard, but when you get to the top the view is amazing.’ Be resilient.

3 thoughts on “Resilience

Add yours

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

